Interview with British Nephilim

Sarah and Eilidh over at British Nephilim were kind enough to sit down and do an interview with us. As you well know here at Fandomsnews we love anything Mortal Instruments so couldn’t resist. The girls are both dedicated to bringing all things Shadowhunter chronicle related and checking in with British news.

As the British co-admin, I totally appreciate this fact. It can be really hard when you’re living in a different country to where everything is being distributed – a problem I’m sure many international accounts struggle with. That and the crazy times people have to post things!

In the coming weeks I will actually be helping out over at British Nephilim doing some writing pieces for them. Thank you girls for having me!

BN

So – to the interview!

How did you find out about TMI?
Eilidh: I read the books from the age 14. I wasn’t the die-hard fan I am today until I saw the trailer for the film around November last year and realised Jamie was Jace. (I fan casted him when he played King Arthur in Camelot!)

Sarah: I started tweeting from my own personal account but I started to annoy a lot of friends and family with my excessive fangirling, so thought I’d make a Shadowhunter account. Then after a conversation between myself and Eilidh we decided to make British Nephilim so we could help other British Shadowhunters keep up to date with the news.

What made you want to start a fan account?
Eilidh: Honestly, everyone kept asking me what TMI was on my personal twitter page and I’d had enough of people asking me to stop tweeting about it. Sarah suggested I should start up a page, and I noticed there wasn’t a Scottish page so… yay!

Sarah: I started tweeting from my own personal account but I started to annoy a lot of friends and family with my excessive fangirling, so thought I’d make a Shadowhunter account. Then after a conversation between myself and Eilidh we decided to make British Nephilim so we could help other British Shadowhunters keep up to date with the news.

Is it hard running a fanpage from a different country from where the books/movies take place in?
Eilidh: It’s not hard, really. Challenging at times for sure, but so rewarding! The hardest part for me is time zones! Always having to stay up till US times can be annoying, but I love doing it!!!! Also not being able to cover events like Comic Con etc is sad!

Sarah: Not really hard as such, more frustrating at times. Like yes we have had some great events in the UK, but the majority of the events happen in America or Canada. We’d love to go to all events to be able to share it with our followers, but it’s just not possible at the moment.

Where do you see yourself a year from now?
Eilidh: Keeping going with TMIScotland an British Nephilim, of course! This is all subject to me not dying of feels from City of Heavenly Fire… (this is probable). Hopefully being able to do some events like meeting Cassie, interviewing cast etc around the UK – would be my dream!!!

Sarah: Fangirling over the soon to be released City of Ashes movie 😉 Hopefully being invited to events to interview the cast and crew like some of the bigger fan sites. I can dream, right?

What TMI character do you relate to most?
Eilidh: Ooh. That’s a tough one. I think I’m most like Jace. I can be super snarky and hide my feelings often. But then again I have hints of Alec through me cause I am fiercely protective over the people I love but my jealousy can cause me some trouble.

Sarah: SIMON!! I am a MASSIVE geek! I don’t really read comic like Simon, but I play a lot of video games and watch geeky films. But I’m proud to be like Simon as he is also my favourite character from TMI.

What character from either series would you want as your parabatai? (Although you both already are!)
Eilidh: If not Sarah… Probably Magnus. I know he’s not a Shadowhunter, but he’s just so cool!!

Sarah:  If I couldn’t have Eilidh, I’d want Will. Although I’d fall in love with him which is against the law and I’d get thrown into the Silent City dungeons. But he is such a perfect parabatai to Jem, it’s beautiful.

You can only save one of the books in an emergency – what one do you pick and why?
Eilidh: Ah. Oh dear. Um. This is SO difficult. I’d have to say City of Glass. But then City of Lost Souls… AHH. I don’t know. I can’t chose one!

Sarah:  EASY! Clockwork Princess. That book has everything you could ever want in a book. Love, Comedy, Deaths, Happiness, Sadness, Confusion, Rooooomance 😉

Do you have any Mortal Instruments/Infernal Devices merchandise?
Eilidh: I have a few angelic rune bracelets and necklaces, but my favourite has to be my custom made angelic rune bookends! So perfect for my favourite books!!!

Sarah: I have an Angelic Rune necklace that a friend made me. I also have a charm bracelet that is inspired by The Mortal Instruments by Canvas Warriors, and I have like loads of posters that I got from London Film and Comic Con. I will be getting more soon though.

What scene is your favourite in City of Bones that you want to see in the movie?
Eilidh: Oh me… probably the Greater Demon scene where Dorothea dies. I love that scene in the book, can’t wait to see how it turns out!!!!

Sarah:  I have two. Mainly I can’t wait to see the Greenhouse Scene for obvious reasons. My next favourite is the poetry reading that Clary and Simon go to. It will be an amazing scene, I can already tell.

What other fandoms are you a part of?
Eilidh: TMI will always be my main fandom, but I am also part of Divergent, The Hunger Games and all of JL Armentrout’s series (Lux, Covenant etc!). I could go on about more, but these are my main interests outside TMI!

Sarah: I wouldn’t really class myself part of any other fandom. I would love to say I’m a Potterhead, but I am definitely not very active. The Shadowhunter series are my life at the moment, so I don’t really have time to fangirl over anything else.

Thanks girls! Remember to check out their site British Nephilim and enter the competition that is currently going on. You can enter to win a book of your choice from the Shadowhunter Chronicles.

Categories: Interviews

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

